Home > SSIS > SSIS – Not loading last row from CSV files

SSIS – Not loading last row from CSV files

This week, I have got a strange requirement from one of my clients as they are exactly missing last row from CSV files while loading into database using SSIS package.
Scenario: We have a SSIS package loading bunch of CSV files everyday
Problem: The package is not loading exactly last in from all the CSV files, too strange for me
After a bit of shock from the point of SSIS developer view, I feel that I am going to learn a new concept here
Solution:
I tried to debug the SSIS package, unfortunately I didn’t find any strange behaviour so I narrowed to only the flat file connection manager.
I find a strange Text Qualifier as _x003C_none_x003E in the Flat File connection manager as below

I have updated the Text Qualifier as for initial testing as below

I got a successful trial here, loading all the rows from CSV files in PROD.
Here, SSIS packages having some issues with SP and CU updates or when we deploy any packages and then updating/changing the environments including x64/x32.
I still not convinced why we are only missing the exact last row while loading the files.
I also end up with an interesting msdn forums thread here and I recommend considering Todd’s points

Categories: SSIS Tags:
  1. vish
    August 9, 2012 at 3:29 am | #1

    If you are provided a text qualifier for the column data , use it . otherwise just leave it to default – . When you start altering the test qualifier and even use blank it will not load the last line.

    I tried with using just ‘none’ then it got missed last row.
    and
    I tried with default it did not miss anything.

    The text qualifier should be single character . In Unix/Linux based machines or Oracle loader ,when we trying to use text qualifier with multiple characters it will throw an error. but SSIS just can’t give you error instead some abnormal results.

    SSIS is as good as bad .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

